Joint management

The Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory (Parks and Wildlife) manages 87 areas as parks and reserves. Of these 32 are subject to formal joint management with Aboriginal traditional owners.

These arrangements have mostly resulted from negotiated settlement of land and/or native title claims. These settlements secured the continued use of these areas as parks and the ability to provide ongoing visitor access and development.

The main aims and principles of joint management are:

  • empowerment of traditional owners and equity in decisions about their land
  • developing employment and economic opportunities for traditional owners
  • improved cultural experiences for park visitors and a contribution to meeting tourism industry demand for more cultural tourism experiences
  • conservation management that combines traditional with western scientific knowledge.

Parks jointly managed

Parks jointly managed include:

  • Garig Gunak Barlu (Cobourg) National Park
  • Nitmiluk National Park
  • Tnorala (Gosse Bluff) Conservation Reserve
  • Barranyi (North Island) National Park
  • Djukbinj National Park.

Jointly managed parks listed in Schedules under the Parks and Reserves (Framework for the Future) Act include:

  • Judbarra / Gregory National Park
  • Gregory’s Tree Historical Reserve
  • Karlu Karlu / Devils Marbles Conservation Reserve
  • Corroboree Rock Conservation Reserve
  • Trephina Gorge Nature Park
  • N’Dhala Gorge Nature Park
  • Iytwelepenty / Davenport National Park
  • Yeperenye / Emily and Jessie Gaps Nature Park
  • Arltunga Historical Reserve
  • Chambers Pillar Historical Reserve
  • Napwerte / Ewaninga Rock Carvings Conservation Reserve
  • Tjoritja / West MacDonnell National Park
  • Finke Gorge National Park
  • Watarrka National Park
  • Native Gap Conservation Reserve
  • Dulcie Range National Park
  • Kuyunba Conservation Reserve
  • Mary River National Park
  • Fogg Dam Conservation Reserve
  • Black Jungle / Lambells Lagoon Cons Reserve
  • Harrison Dam Conservation Reserve
  • Melacca Swamp Conservation Area
  • Giwining / Flora River Nature Park
  • Rainbow Valley Conservation Reserve
  • Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve
  • Ruby Gap Nature Park
  • Mac Clark (Acacia peuce) Conservation Reserve.

Last updated: 24 March 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.