Australian Superbike Championship returns to Darwin

The Northern Territory government will bring the Australian Superbike Championship back to Darwin with the Round 4 event to be held at Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin on 6-9 July, 2017.

The return to the Top End after a four year absence finalises the seven round 2017 Australian Superbike Championship calendar.

NT Major Events General Manager Andrew Hopper said the event was a boost for Territory sport and the economy.

“It’s great to have the Superbikes return to the Top End, this partnership brings another significant national event to the Northern Territory,” Mr Hopper said.

“High profile events like this provide great tourism opportunities and also generate a boost to the business and hospitality industries.

“The event will also be welcomed by all motorbike fans, who have long wanted a return of two-wheel racing.”

It’s expected that the return of the Superbikes to Darwin will open up further motorsport opportunities in the Northern Territory.

“Through demonstrating our ability to stage championships of this calibre, we increase the potential opportunities to host international standard motor cycle events in the future,” Mr Hopper said.

“In addition, we’re building local skills and capability in delivering world class events."

Motorcycling Australia CEO, Peter Doyle said the time was right to return to Darwin.

"It is great to see the ASBK championship heading back up to Darwin and Hidden Valley, a venue that is very popular with the teams and it is a circuit enjoyed by riders,” Mr Doyle said.

“We very much look forward to returning north for the highly anticipated July round of the ASBK and once again visiting our friends in the Top End he finished.

Round 1 Phillip Island GP Circuit, WSBK, VIC                     23-26 February (Complete)

Round 2 Wakefield Park Raceway, NSW                              17-19 March

Round 3 Winton Motor Raceway, VIC                                   28-30 April

Round 4  Hidden Valley Raceway, NT                                   6-9 July

Round 5 Morgan Park Raceway, QLD                                   25-27 August

Round 6 SMP Eastern Creek, NSW                                       8- 10 September

Round 7 Phillip Island Circuit, VIC                                        6-10 October

For further information head to