Central Australia


This listing categorises the series of records held by the Northern Territory Archives Service (NTAS), which relate entirely or predominantly to Central Australia.

There are also numerous NT Government record series which relate to the entire Northern Territory including Central Australia (e.g. pastoral leases and grazing licences). These series are not included in this list.

For the purposes of this list, Central Australia includes the area between the Barkly Tablelands and the South Australian border.

The series of records listed here may not all be immediately available on open public access. NTAS staff can advise further in this regard.

The listing is divided into three categories as follows:

  • personal papers, photographs and oral histories
  • non-government organisations
  • NT Government and local government organisations.

For more information see the list of holdings in about NT Archives Service or the list of government and community records relating to Central Australia PDF (142.1 KB) - oral histories are not included on this list.

The Northern Territory Archives Service is located in Darwin and Alice Springs. The majority of these records are located in the Alice Springs repository.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 21 April 2016

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.